Saturday, April 14, 2012

Movie Review #18: The Hunger Games

From the announcement that this book would be transformed into a movie, I have been on pins and needles awaiting its release. But lo and behold, March 23rd eventually came and I found myself at the midnight showing, nearly hyperventilating in excitement (ok, not really). But I am beyond pleased to say I was not disappointed. Gary Ross, who unfortunately has recused himself from directing Catching Fire, did a phenomenal job creating the starting point for the series, but making sure the film held its own. I'm bummed he won't be coming back for CF, but I'm not surprised. And I think that having different directors for each movie would be a good way to create the individual flavor that each novel has. But, back to the film.

When Jennifer Lawrence was cast, I was slightly skeptical. I had not seen her in anything else, and it's hard to picture someone as a character that they in reality don't look like. But as soon as I saw pictures of her with darker hair and her representation as Mystique in X-Men First Class, I was sold. Overall, I believe this entire film was phenomenally cast. Liam Hemsworth is extremely talented at being dark and brooding as Gale. Josh Hutcherson as Peeta was to me a miscast at first, but I think with the first film he got his foot in the door, and I'm ready to see what he can bring to the next two. Elizabeth Banks was amazing as Effie (more on her later), Lenny Kravitz as Cinna was brilliant, and I called Woody Harrelson as Haymitch. No joke, when they announced it was in production, I pointed my bat to the stands and said him. You cannot imagine the laughing fit (and proud moment of course) when I was right. Even the tributes were well cast. Amandla Stenberg was cast as Rue, and OMG I just want to hug her. She is so adorable! But now to the actual film.

Because I have read all the books, and am such a huge fan, this is going to be nitpick time. I think that as a whole, the film was amazing. It complemented the book wonderfully. That being said, there were certain things I think could have been changed. Right at the beginning, the film portrays Katniss getting the mockingjay pin and giving it to her sister, who then gives it right back to her. This completely cut out the character Madge, the district mayor's daughter who has an unspoken friendship with Katniss. Obviously, I get why Hollywood eliminated her. She isn't really plot relevant. Second nitpick: the breakfast scene on the train. This scene in the book in one of my favorites because it's how Haymitch realizes he could actually have a chance at some good tributes. District 12 is notorious for having weak tributes, but both Peeta and Katniss immediately let it be known they are in for a fight. In the film, Katniss has her moment, but Peeta does not. It bothered me because Peeta's character in the book is friendly, but will be violent when needed. The scene on the roof "I'm sure I'll kill when the time comes..." that isn't really backed up like it is in the book based on his previous don't-screw-with-us moment on the train. The movie portrays him too much as the nice boy with the bread. And the movie doesn't do much to show his rougher, can-kick-ass-when-need-be side. Third nitpick: the chariot. In the book, Cinna tells them to hold hands, and Katniss doesn't fight it. Much better than her aggressively pulling away from him like in the film. Which seemed cold and bitchy, while in the book is distinctly a power play move in her regard and she goes with it. Fourth nitpick: tribute stash of supplies & Rue's death. While Rue is dying, she says "Did you blow up the supplies?" They didn't know it was booby trapped, and Katniss doesn't discover this until she sees the hoard for the first time. So, how can one comment on bombs if it was an unknown? Plus, when Katniss hold up her fingers to Rue's district, that is not the time they rebelled. District 8 begins rebellion then, but 11 is still intact for district visits in CF. Fifth nitpick: the cave scene. This is me being sad that my FAVORITE scene in the book was so maladapted. I understand time requirements for films, but couldn't you have put another two minutes to show them stuck in the cave, rainy, and sickly. C'mon. Sixth nitpick: the mutts. This is not so much a nitpick, as a disappointment. I was REALLY looking forward to seeing the mutts as their representation of the dead tributes, especially Glimmer's mutt who has shaggy blonde hair. Kind of a let down. Seventh and last nitpick: the relationship between Peeta and Katniss at the end. There was kind of a moment in the film where Katniss at least lets it be known she's unsure of the future, but it isn't established that she played it all up to win the games. The end of the book is their arrival at home and them having to attempt faked romance when he's pissed as hell at her. I will be interested in how this issue is tackled in the next film. Personally, I can see them having it start off on the way to district visits. But now that the nitpicking is done, I will expound on all the stuff I thought was done really well.

Firstly, the reaping was done perfectly. I am not ashamed to admit that I welled up when I saw the movie the first time, and flat out started balling when I saw it the second time. The scene captures the raw emotion of a girl believing she's going to go die, and an older sister's despair at the same thought. Brilliant. Secondly, the cornucopia. Personally, whenever I read about it I always pictured a giant wood one, like Thanksgiving. Which is obviously not what it would be. But I was so impressed with the film version. Thirdly, the way violence was handled. This book is violent, it's about war. It's about kids killing kids. The fast camera movement helped dispel some of the tension. There was still one moment when Cato snaps the neck of the male district from 5. And I jumped. I literally freaked for a minute. Fourthly, the whole games. In the book, you have the understanding of the technology involved in the games, but not an in depth look at how it works. The film gave a couple scenes that allowed the viewer to understand the effort and technology involved. And it was awesome. Fifthly, the odd little moments of humor. This is a sad story, but that doesn't mean it can't have a little bit of levity in it. Granted, I might have been the only person laughing, but still, it was nice. Lastly, Rue's death. I balled during this scene both times that I saw the film, and at least once while reading it. Amandla Stenberg was amazing. So much emotion. It's such a poignant moment because it captures the essence of THG. This is a child who would still be alive if not for the unfortunate reason of being picked to die for sport because of a rebellion and treaty from 74 years ago. So in conclusion, even with all my nitpicking ways, I give this film and 8.5 out of 10. I really believe it did a great job portraying the book. And I can't wait for the next installments. The director Alfonso Cuaron, directed HP3, is in talks and I think he would do really well. But there are few others I would be ok with. Personally, I really really really want Kathryn Bigelow to direct Mockingjay. That one is primarily the war, and even though I haven't seen the Hurt Locker, I think she would be brilliant.

A couple of other important THG related things have happened since the movie came out. First, there was an onslaught of negativity directed at the African American actors from the film. One tweet in particular that made me nauseous "Rue's black? Suddenly not so sad she died." Based on the descriptions in the books, these characters were either going to be African American or Middle Eastern. What the Apocalypse happens and that means all the African Americans die? C'mon people. Get your heads out of your asses! I think every single African American actor cast was awesome, especially Amandla. Hopefully she gets really wealthy and can tell all the haters to suck it! Secondly, there has been a great outpouring of criticism against these amazing books, claiming them anti-ethnic, anti-family, and violent. Ok, the violence part, I understand. But anti-ethnic? This book to me is a great equalizer of race. Proving the power of money to bring people of different backgrounds together to protect themselves. And especially the anti-family sentiment? Are you kidding me? It's all about familial sacrifice. What would you give up to protect http://www.blogger.com/img/blank.gifthe ones you love? If that's not about family, I don't know what is. Third and lastly, I follow Elizabeth Banks on her website. She's awesome and funny. But as put on a previous blog post, my bff Rachel and I created a super awesome map of Panem. We used the series, the webs, and a kid's book of the USA as our logic and justifications for choices. Well EB was having an art contest and I submitted the map. And I won. Cue the awe at winning something EVER. I'm just one of those people who never wins anything. I got to submit a guest blog to her website: elizabethbanks.com/blog/post/guest-blog-thehungergames-fan-art-winner-alexandra

Best birthday present that ever existed! Cannot be topped! So anyway, in conclusion: movie rocked, people still suck, and map nerds rule!

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

How Mad Men Reminds Me that We Haven't Come that Far

The double edged sword of sexism was also a possible title for the blog post. I've recently renewed my interest in the fashionable television show Mad Men, which gives an in depth look at the dynamics of the advertising world in the 1960s. I'm currently half way through season 4, trying desperately to catch up to the current season (5th) because I hear it is awesome.

So, I'm calling spoiler alert NOW. If you have not seen the 4th season, I'm going to be giving a bit away. Not anything that is hugely plot related, but still. If however, you have seen the 4th season, or simply don't care about spoilers, then by all means, read on.

Two of the main female characters of the show are copywriter Peggy (Elizabeth Moss) and office aide/secretary/keeps-the-entire-operation-running-sometimes Joan (Christina Hendricks). In the episode "The Summer Man," a young, freelance copywriter Joey (played by Matt Long *yum*) starts casually dropping sexual insults at Joan. After a scolding from her, he blows it completely out of the water when he draws an offensive cartoon of her engaging is a sexual act with another male employee. Peggy sees him drawing it and tells him to stop, but Joey finishes it and tapes it up on Joan's window. Joan's reaction is to tell them that when they all get drafted and sent to Vietnam, she won't care if they die, because she never liked them. They are all astonished she would say something like that (personally, I would probably say the same). Anyway, Peggy goes to Don, who doesn't like the cartoon but won't do anything about it. He tells her it's her problem and to fire Joey if she doesn't like it. Peggy fires Joey. Later in the elevator, Joan and Peggy are discussing the cartoon. Peggy says she fired Joey. Mad that Peggy went over her head, Joan says, "So all you've done is proved to them that I'm another meaningless secretary and you're another humorless bitch."

Joan's point is that while she knows there is nothing in particular that she can do, she makes it known that she doesn't give a crap about them. She can't fire them, but she can make their lives in the office a living hell if she wants to do so. She's bluffing her authority, and they believe it. By Peggy firing Joey, Joan is still just a meaningless worker bee. She could still make their lives horrible, but what's the point since other people have higher authority than her? Peggy doesn't like the cartoon, and truly she's right in firing him. So in reality, they both have valid points. And that is why the situation sucks, and is still relevant.

I used to be the kind of girl that had a lot of guy friends, but as I have grown up and matured, I've realized that guys are not all that great to be around sometimes. Being around guys (at least, the immature ones), when they make an offensive comment and you call them on it, they immediate chime in "It was a joke, chill out." So you pipe down. But if you say anything more, you're too sensitive and can't take the humor. But obviously this is a common "humor" for guys, so you hear it a lot. So you have to take it or you're too weak to handle it. Ok, here's my enormous issue with this: instead of me having to listen to you degrade women, how about men just don't degrade women? Shocking, right?

Mad Men is set in the 1960s, and yet I still deal with crap like this today. After repeatedly saying a sexist comment and following it with "I'm joking," umm no!, eventually you're actually just being yourself and making excuses. And it's bullshit. But unfortunately, there is no clever denigrating term for me to use against men. Granted, that would just bring me down to their pathetic level, but sometimes my immediate instinct to just fight back. But to be the better person, I have to choose my flight instinct over fight and walk away. Which is why today, I have more friends that are girls than friends that are guys. And the few guy friends I still have, know better than to say sexist crap with me around. And if they did, the situation generally goes like this:

Guy: Stupid, sexist comment.
Me: *menacing glare*
Guy: Sorry.

And any guy that reacts differently around me, probably won't have me as a friend much longer. Because I refuse to tolerate or deal with sexist humor. It's not a joke. It's just offensive. And that's why unfortunately, not much has changed since the 1960s.

Saturday, March 10, 2012

#15-17 is a Spooky Series of Films

#15: Paranormal Activity
As I'm getting older, I'm starting to get more into scary movies. So I finally decided it was time to see this trilogy. Begin full day marathon session! The first movie of the series is about Katie and her boyfriend Micah who have just moved in together. Weird things start happening in their house so Katie tells Micah about how she's experienced paranormal occurrences ever since she was little. Micah decides to film the experiences to try and figure out what is going on and to have documentation of the events. I rate the movie a 6.5 out of 10. Since I had heard so much about the film before I saw it, it took away from the scariness factor and the fact that I knew at least part of the ending really made it fall flat. Plus, there are some continuity issues with the later films. You can tell that they hadn't planned for any sequels, but decided on them when it got popular. Decent scary movie but certainly not the scariest I've ever seen.

#16: Paranormal Activity 2
The second movie of the trilogy intertwines story lines with the first film, but centers around Katie's sister Kristi who has just brought home her newborn son Hunter. A weird break-in happens not too long after the arrival of Hunter and it shakes the family up. Kristi mentions to her sister about what happened when they were little and how she thinks something might be happening again. Katie tells her to forget about it and let it go; this is mere weeks before the events of the first film. Things continue to get stranger and stranger, but to keep the integrity of my synopsis I won't continue. I rate this movie a 7.5 out of 10. Better suspense building than the first film and I would say overall, a bit scarier than the first.

#17: Paranormal Activity 3
This was the film of the trilogy I was most excited to see because I had not heard anything about it except seeing the trailer, which had freaked me out. This film of the trilogy is all about Katie and Kristi when they are younger and how the paranormal events started. Katie and Kristi live with their mother Julie and her boyfriend Dennis, who is a wedding filmographer. Note, I love the way they work in excuses as to why cameras are around the house in each of the films. So, weird things start happening *shock* and it all seems to stem back to Kristi, who has a new invisible friend named Toby. Things start getting worse, again *shock*. As with above, if I go any further I'll start giving away plot. I give this movie a 7 out of 10. Even better method of building suspense than the first two, but some plot continuity issues have you scratching your head. Definitely has more of a creepiness factor because it has two little girls in it. I swear, when people sit down to write horror movies, they have a list and little girls are at the top of the "successfully creepy" list. Really interesting to watch all three in order of release. But I do plan on rewatching in order of plot to see how much better that is. One thing I can say for the franchise is that they used mostly obscure actors. I only recognized one of them. Use of lesser known actors on top of the film footage typology creates a more believable story.

Saturday, February 18, 2012

Why the Hunger Games is FREAKING AWESOME

The nation has been taken captive by a series of books, written by Suzanne Collins, that take place in an apocalyptic North America, called Panem. A new government called the Capitol rules over twelve districts. After the thirteenth district had tried to fight back and was annihilated by the Capitol, every year each district contributes a girl and boy drawn from a lottery to fight to the death in the "Hunger Games." So why is it so awesome? Glad you asked.

1) The cast is freaking legit. Jennifer Lawrence is cast as the main character Katniss. After seeing X-Men Origins, I kinda have a crush on her. If she came out tomorrow and I had a chance, I'd probably switch sides for her. Anyway, Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth are supporting characters and are yummy. Elizabeth Banks, Lenny Kravitz, Woody Harrelson, and so many more amazing actors are in it. And I can't wait to finally see it on the big screen.

2) The books are amazing. Written for young adults, the thematic elements are easily identifiable to adults. Suzanne is brilliant as a writer and I want her to do more. The characters can be easily related to and you so quickly get sucked into these books, wondering what's next for each of them. The main female character is a good role model for young girls.

3) It solidly competes with other series that are popular right now. Harry Potter and Twilight obvious have huge fan bases. Hunger Games holds its own against these other books and, at least in the case of Twilight, has a MUCH better message. Harry Potter is about sacrificing your life for the greater good of humanity. Hunger Games has a similar message. Twilight is about sacrificing your life for a guy. Yeah, exactly.

So anyway, I could keep going on about why it's great. Instead, I would love to comment on my own nerdy fan-dom. It was late one night and I was hanging out with one of my bffs. When suddenly we started talking about the new movie and the books and what the map of Panem would look like. Thus began the multiple hour project of creating a map.



That is my map. The districts are all the same for my map and the ones my two bffs did. But we got to fill in our own interpretations of flooding and wilds.

Another thing I've done that shows I'm nerdy to the extreme is that I've entered contests to try and get tickets for the premiere. And I continue to do so. Anyway, for the contest E! was doing you had to create your own look to fit either the luxury of the Capitol or the district look in the actual games. I chose to do Capitol Couture.



So that's the end of my nerdiness. But as I said before, the nation has been taken captive by these books. Which includes the creation of a nail polish line by China Glaze for the series. Which I want. Really badly. If you haven't read the books, I wholeheartedly suggest them. They're quick reads and insanely interesting. So seriously, go read them. NOW.

12, 13, 14 of My Movie Lovin'

This post is a bit more Rachel McAdams centric because two of the three movies include her. But it's ok because she's f-ing adorable.

#12: The Time Traveler's Wife
Eric Bana stars as Henry, an attractive librarian with a rare genetic condition that allows him to travel through time. In his travels, he meets a girl named Clare, played by Rachel McAdams, and the two create a very deep bond. As he ages he continues to travel and meet Clare at various ages, having a moment with her in her late twenties one minute and suddenly he shifts and is seeing her as a little girl. I will give the movie a 7.5 out of 10. On the one hand, it's a very bland love story. On the other hand, Eric Bana is naked A LOT. And that to me is no downside. The movie also made me want to read the book which is next in line for my reading schedule. There are just quite a few questions I have about time travel now that can't really be answered, which is a bummer.

#13: The Vow
Based on a true story, this film tells the story of a couple who deal with what happens when one partner suddenly can't remember anything about their life together. Channing Tatum stars as Leo and Rachel McAdams as Paige, a couple who have been together for four years. After a tragic accident, Paige has had the past four years completely erased from her memory and reverts back to her life before then. The couple try and recreate their life together, but it proves harder than they imagined. I give it a 7 out of 10. I would love to learn more about the real couple behind the film. The trailer was misleading because I expected more romance and it ended up being more serious. The supporting cast was great, and the two leads were phenomenal. But I wanted more romance and was disappointed in that regard.

#14: The Adjustment Bureau
Based on a Philip K. Dick story, Matt Damon plays David Norris, a politician running for office. He meets Elise, played by Emily Blunt, a beautiful dancer who alters David. But just after meeting her, David sees "behind the curtain" and is told there are people in charge of making sure everyone goes down "the right path." And that Elise is not meant to be on David's path. They have moments in and out of each others lives. And now have to fight for each other against "the Adjustment Bureau." I give the movie a 9.5 out of 10. The two main characters are brilliantly portrayed. The dialogue is witty and catches you off guard. And it is wonderfully done as a thriller. The only mark off was that it could get slightly predictable at moments. But other than that, great film.

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

8, 9, 10, and 11 of My Movie Madness

#8: Horrible Bosses
It's a timeless story. Hard worker, under-appreciated at their job, and a douche of a boss. Horrible Bosses takes this theme and creates three hilarious characters played by Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis, and Charlie Day. Their bosses are quite literally the scum of the earth in the forms of Colin Farrell, Kevin Spacey, and Jennifer Aniston. The men, fed up with the crap from their bosses, decide it would be best to off each others bosses. What ensues is a hilarious mish-mash of insanity that leaves you guessing. Will they pull it off or will them end up being slaves to "the Man" forever? I rate it 9.5 out of 10. The plot leaves you guessing up to the last second. The deduction is for laughing so hard, I nearly got a cramp. Great flick. Standout for me in the veteran category was Jennifer Aniston. This movie has proven that she hasn't lost her comedy chops just yet. And the rookie standout was Charlie Day. I've never watched It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, but he might have changed my mind.

#9: The Mechanic
Jason Statham stars as Arthur, a very capable hit man aka "mechanic." His mentor is played by Donald Sutherland, who has been doing something shifty *bum bum bum*. Arthur is then contracted to kill him and does so. Feeling guilty, he takes the mentor's son, played by Ben Foster, and teaches him how to be a "mechanic." Eventually something changes the game and the boys take you along for the ride. The action is non stop in this amazing film and has very well done cinematography. I give it an 8 out of 10. Occasionally the dialogue gets stiff when the action can't cover it, and it sometimes gets rather gory. But overall, the story moves well and makes for an entertaining viewing. Also, Ben Foster and Jason Statham are hot so, you know, great man candy who are well dressed.

#10: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (American Version)
Ok, so I finally went and saw this in theaters. For fuller details check out my stuff on the Swedish version, but since I already covered it, this one is going to be shorter. I really really really liked Daniel Craig as Mikael. And I really really really liked Rooney Mara as Lisbeth. The two of them have chemistry that is straight out of the book. Everything was great. Except two things. One is the insanely weird/long intro. While I enjoyed the cover of "The Immigrant Song," the intro was just too long. The cinematography of it was well done, but so weird. The other thing I can't really go into because it is plot related, but I went "WTF?" hardcore when it happened. Because it seemed like it could have been done appropriately to the story based on time and such. But it wasn't, and I didn't enjoy it. Which is why I am giving it a 7 out of 10. The intro was just too much and the plot twist was mismanaged. Apart from that, the cast was phenomenal and the cinematography was well done.

#11: The Switch
Did this movie seem like a cheese factor? Yes. Did watching it seem like a good idea? No, not really. Did I kind of fall in love with it? YES. Jennifer Aniston and Jason Bateman play Kassie and Wally, best friends who tried to date but realized they had better chemistry as buddies of the non-fuck variety. Kassie's biological clock is ticking and she decides she wants a baby the non-old fashioned way. Wally doesn't know if it's a good idea, and in his attempt to be supportive he screws some shit up. Drunkenly replacing the donor sperm with his own, Kassie goes her way and he goes his. Now several years later, she's back in town and he's starting to remember what happened that boozed up night. The movie stars adorable Thomas Robinson as Sebastian, Kassie's son. I give it a 8.5 out of 10. I deducted two points for being a semi predictable will they-won't they movie. But I gave back half a point because the son is so frickin' cute, you spend the whole movie going "Aww, I just want to hug him!" Also, Jason Bateman is one of the most underrated actors in Hollywood. Get with the program people, he's awesome and needs to be in more movies!

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Guys and Their Sports Figures

I am a girl who loves sports. Seriously. I bleed Green and White every fall watching Michigan State football. I scream with joy whenever Ohio State loses. I celebrate when the Red Wings make Sydney Crosby cry. I may not know everything, but I know enough to keep in conversation. Anyway, there are two sports figures that I don't get the guy hype about. Tim Tebow and Lebron James.

This could be due to the fact that NFL and NBA are two of the sports arenas I don't particularly care about. But all I saw last year was guys fawning over Lebron James. He even got a mention in the movie Bad Teacher. "It's the only argument I need Sean!" Haven't seen the film but that line always makes me crack up.

And now, the hype is all about Tim Tebow. All I know is that his name is Tim and he plays football. I have heard that it might have something to do with his religious nature. But anyway, if any guy could please explain the hype over these two, it would be great.